Skip to content

Nominations are now open for the position of APLAP Secretary

It is with much regret that the Association of Parliamentary Librarians of Asia and the Pacific Executive Committee has accepted the resignation of our Treasurer, Fathimath Shiham. As a result of Fathimath’s departure, our Secretary, Nicole Cottrell, has stepped into the Treasurer role, thus leaving the role of APLAP Secretary vacant. This prompts the APLAP Executive Committee to open nominations for the position of APLAP Secretary.

Who’s eligible?

All employees of parliamentary libraries or research services who hold active membership of the Association of Parliamentary Librarians of Asia and the Pacific are eligible to stand for election.

How do I nominate someone or get nominated?

Nominations can be made in two ways:

  • individuals may nominate themselves
  • a member may nominate another individual for election, provided the nominee certifies she/he is willing to stand.

All nominees must complete the nomination form and return it to Fairlyn Sarga ( or Asha Kumar ( by Wednesday 30 March 5pm Solomon Islands Time (UTC + 11:00 hours).

Would you like to know more?

If you are interested in nominating for election and would like to discuss any aspect of serving on the APLAP Executive Committee, please contact any of our office bearers who are happy to discuss their experiences and answer any questions you might have.

Boniface Supa

Fairlyn Sarga
Vice-President Asia and joint acting Secretary

Asha Kumar
Vice-President Pacific and joint acting Secretary Cottrell


APLAP Executive Committee

At the APLAP General Meeting held during the 13th APLAP Conference (virtual) hosted by the Philippines, delegates appointed the next APLAP Executive Committee.

President: Boniface Supa (National Parliament of the Solomon Islands)

Vice-President (Asia): Fairlyn Sarga (House of Representatives Legislative Library, Philippines)

Vice-President (Pacific): Asha Kumar (Research and Library Unit, Parliament of the Republic of Fiji)

Secretary: Nicole Cottrell (Parliamentary Library, New Zealand)

Treasurer: Fathimath Shiham (Library of the People’s Majlis, Maldives)

Delegates expressed their thanks and appreciation to outgoing President, Edgardo H. Pangilinan, outgoing Secretary, Rosemarie Balidoy-Sommer, and outgoing Treasurer, Katherine Close, for the contribution they have made to the Association during their time as members of the APLAP Executive Committee.


13th APLAP Conference Philippines – Thank you

The Association of Parliamentary Librarians of Asia and the Pacific would like to congratulate the Congress of the Philippines for hosting a very engaging and successful 13th APLAP Conference. The event was APLAPs inaugural online conference and featured many informative and inspiring speakers. Congratulations and thanks go to the organising committee for their hard work in producing such a well-planned, well-executed and enjoyable event.

Presentations from the conference are available on the conference webpage